Haiku Prelude – Haiku Kami Project in aid of Momo Kaki Orphans Fund

Haiku Prelude – Haiku Kami project 2011 – 2021

Haiku Prelude – Haiku Kami series of paintings were publish in the book form and the proceeds from the sell are donated annually (10.000 JY) to Momo – Kaki Orphans Fund, chaired by Tadao Ando. It is the first publication of it’s kind and as such it has received support and encouragement from all the living authors, whose haiku is included in the project as well as institutions and organisations. The book includes an introduction by Kuniharu Shimizu (haiku poet and haiga artist) and the foreword by President of the European Council Mr Herman Van Rompuy (haiku poet). Carolina Khouri hopes that the publication will serve as an evolving memorial to those that suffered as a result of the earthquake.

Featured haiku poets:
Bashõ, Buson, Darek Brzóska Brzózkiewicz, David Cobb, Juan delGado, Caroline Gourlay, James William Hackett, Gary Hotham, Teiko Inahata, Issa, Jack Kerouac, Ezra Pound, Herman Van Rompuy, Ryõkan, Ryõta, Kuniharu Shimizu, Takaya Soshu, Takaha Shugyo, Alison Williams, Richard Wright, Goto Yahan.

The project was funded by The Great Britain Sasakawa Foundation  and Polish Cultural Institute

Here are some memories from the opening nights of the exhibitions between 2012 – 2016.